Get to know our Members. Let`s meet Pedro Roberts!

We asked Pedro a few questions about himself and his journey with City Bowl Toastmasters. Let`s find out what he had to say.

Give us a brief background of yourself and what motivated you to join City Bowl Toastmasters?

I`m a born and bred Capetonian. I was invited by the City Bowl Toastmasters President, Quinton, to join a couple of online meetings and thoroughly enjoyed the camaraderie and interesting talks. I always wanted to become a better speaker and it became clear that Toastmasters would be a great platform to achieve this goal.

What is your current/ or ideal career?

After 21 years in the aviation industry, and despite the extreme challenges we are facing due to the Covid pandemic, I`m still loving it.

What are some of your goals?

As the future future of aviation globally is uncertain and post the corporate world, I plan a move with the entrepreneurial environment.

What is your favourite…

Food? I`m addicted to Peanut Butter! I get withdrawal symptoms after a week without it.

Book? The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene.

Movie/TV Series? Movie – The Count of Monte Cristo (2002); TV Series – Currently watching Resurrection: Ertugrul.

Music? I grew up with music (both my mom and dad played a variety of instruments) and I’ve come to appreciate all genres; from Hip Hop to Jazz to Classical. I therefore don’t have a favourite artist, but do have a favourite producer due to his longevity and influence on music worldwide – Andre Romelle Young, better known as Dr Dre.

Thing to do in your spare time? DIY, Gardening, Running, Gym, Reading, Stock Market Investing.

What do you enjoy most about being a member of City Bowl Toastmasters?

Everyone is so helpful and it’s a safe and welcoming space to grow and develop one’s communication skills.

What speech did you enjoy doing most?

My Ice Breaker speech!

Why do you think good Public Speaking skills is important?

I don’t know any leader of an industry or within a leading political role who doesn’t address audiences regularly. Not that I ever see myself in the role of the State President or Bill Gates, but I have found even within my current role that public speaking or even just addressing staff is unavoidable, but a very important skill to have to clearly convey ideas, instructions and motivate employees (especially in these unprecedented times).

Any advice for potential members?

Don’t procrastinate like myself, just jump in and get on with your self-improvement asap.

*Written by Zaghra Savahl (VPPR of City Bowl Toastmasters).

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started